Early Work 1986-1995

Rob Morsberger Early Work 1986 - 1995

Track List Disc 1

  1. State Of Mind
  2. Down On Me
  3. The Two Lovers
  4. Shotgun Wedding
  5. Catfish
  6. A Touch Of Innocence
  7. A Change Of Heart
  8. Speechless
  9. Love God
  10. 3/4ths In Love (feat. Loudon Wainwright III)
  11. Wake Me Up
Track List Disc 2

  1. The Dogs Of Anger
  2. The Steel Collar
  3. The Etiquette Song
  4. If God Needed (A Pair Of Eyes)
  5. Like Dislike
  6. An Ocean Of Blue (feat. Suzzy Roche)
  7. Fools Paradise
  8. Stupid Own Way
  9. The Expatriate Song
  10. The Brokenhearted
  11. Rainbow Girl

Early Work is a surprising, eclectic overview of Morsberger’s search for his ‘voice’ as a literate songwriter, with material from the mid-Eighties showing that his songwriting craft was already strongly in place from the beginning. The entire collection represents a unique sound in his catalogue, being essentially built around solo, intimate piano performances and vocal arrangements, with a stellar cast of players teasing these out into assorted duets and trios with a few full band arrangements (guest singers include Loudon Wainwright III, Marshall Crenshaw, Suzzy Roche). The double CD reveals the early work of a uniquely talented man, as he navigates a decade of his life and his art.

“Rob duets Suzy Roche on the slow-moving ‘Ocean Of Blue’ and with Marshall Crenshaw on the country-sway of “Fool’s Paradise.’ The set closes with “Rainbow Girl’ as you truly appreciate Rob as one of the best songwriters of his generation.” —The Record-Journal (CT)